Could the Youth of Today be the Aviculturists of Tomorrow?

The answer is yes! So take a young person under your wing and show them the world of aviculture. The APWS Youth Support Program offers assistance to young people 18 years old and younger who are interested in raising pheasants and/ waterfowl. This assistance may be monetary, or it may include help in locating birds, constructing pens, offering advice on how to raise the birds, etc.

For more information, please contact:

Blake Rossow

49568 -870th Street Lakefield, MN 56150

(507) 822-3739

The Charles Sivelle Scholarship/Grant Program

Bruce Bergbom proposed a scholarship program and agreed to work up a proposal to present to the APWS Board in 1989. Bruce announced information about the American Pheasant and Waterfowl Scholarship/Grant Program in the January-February, 1992, issue of the APWS Magazine. The program was open to all individuals interested in pursuing studies in avicultural or a closely related biological field. The amount of the scholarship/grant is decided yearly by the Board of Directors and is based on available funds. Funds for the scholarships and grants are raised by participation in the annual mail raffle, donations to the annual scholarship auction held during the convention, and donations by members. The first scholarships for students were awarded in 1992. The name of the program was changed to the Charles Sivelle Scholarship/Grant Program in 1994.

Following is a list of scholarship/grand recipients:

  • 2018 No applications
  • 2017 Jay A.VonBank, Matt Sim and Autumn Watkinson
  • 2015 No applications
  • 2014 Samantha Bucco and Thomas Martin
  • 2013 Thomas Martin and Rebecca Saucerman
  • 2012 Michele Goodman
  • 2011 No applications
  • 2010 Edward Hanlon, Rebecca Saucerman, and Holly Herdman
  • 2009 Ian Gereg
  • 2007 Krissy Bush and Ashleigh Brauer
  • 2006 No applications
  • 2005 No applications
  • 2004 Clayton Botkin
  • 2003 Krista Bush and Ian Gereg
  • 2002 Heather Gates, Jeffrey Thomson, and Ian Gereg
  • 2001 Nicole Newton
  • 2000 Andrew Tanner and Ian Gereg
  • 1999 Brian Shamblin and a grant to the Torrent Duck Project
  • 1998 Brian Shamblin and Brent Lubbock
  • 1992 James Bland, Eric Lovell, Rebecca Rogers, and Jeff Sailer

For more information on the scholarship/grant program please contact:

Cathy Goss, Scholarship Committee Chair,

August 1st  is the application deadline